DIY Soy Milk

Wow, who knew it would be so easy? I can see myself doing this once a week and maybe even trying to make tofu.

image

Here’s the recipe I used. One thing that’s missing in the instructions is that you should scoop the foam off the top while cooking. Also you can flavour the finished soy milk with vanilla and sugar/honey/etc. after it’s done. There are lots of recipes online too. I suggest reading 3 or 4 and then following the most promising. 

image

You will need dried organic soy beans (for both environmental and health reasons), a sauce pan or pot, a container for the soy milk, cheese cloth, a funnel, and a blender or food processor (not shown).
My blender is old and not very good but soy milk doesn’t seem to be picky! The pot was just used to make the soy milk so sorry for it not being clean in the picture.

image

Start by soaking a cup of soy beans overnight. They plump up quite a bit and mine got a little bit of froth on the top.
Drain and wrinse them, then puree in your blender with 3 or 4 cups of water. I used the ‘pulse’ function with half the beans then added the rest and ‘pulsed’ some more before going to ‘puree’. It still wasn’t really pureed, more like shredded.  But the soy milk turned out all right so I guess I can’t complain.  I imagine I’m losing some nutrition but like Tim Gun of Project Runway says, sometimes you just have to ‘make it work! ‘

image

Here it is cooking for 30 minutes. Mine got really frothy!

image

Straining the finished milk.

image

What my blender thinks a puree is lol.

image

Ta-da!  The finished product. It’s got a natural sweetness and tastes a bit like, um, it came from beans hahaha.  I find it a pleasant taste and don’t think I’ll sweeten it. My back up plan – incase it wasn’t very good – was to flavour it with vanilla and raw sugar but I don’t think I’ll need to. I’m very happy with the way this turned out!

~ by CarbonSwan on June 30, 2014.

What do you think?

 
