I’m going to tell you why accessible health care is important.  I’m not going to quote statistics that show a direct correlation between income and life expectancy or other disturbing things like that, im going to tell you a story. 
I was in a car accident with a presumably drunk driver. They fled the scene and much later were found to be “100% at fault” by the insurance company.
I was working 2 jobs at the time, trying to get into a new field I hoped would offer a chance at a good paying full time job.
I couldn’t afford the twice weekly physiotherapy visits I needed. The insurance company payed for less than half the cost of each visit. Then they stopped paying, and couldn’t carry the cost myself so I had to stop treatment. 
I lost one of my jobs because of my health, and struggled to maintain the other.
That was 4 years ago.  Last night I had a back cramp (I’ve gotten them since the accident). It woke me up and I spent half an hour in pain trying to work it out. I went back to sleep with one side of my body hanging off the matress so it wouldn’t come back.
It doesn’t happen every night, it depends on my life. 

~ by CarbonSwan on September 3, 2013.

What do you think?

 
